Guide

Project Inspire STEM Focus Group

Recruiting for a focus group about experiences of 6th to 12th grade braille readers in STEM classes.

My name is Dr. Tina Herzberg and I am a professor at the University of South Carolina Upstate. I am collaborating with Dr. Rett McBride on a project to learn more about the experiences of 6th-12th students in their science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) classes.  If your child has been using braille for more than 6 years in their math and/or science classes, we would like to invite them to be in a focus group. 

A focus group is when people with similar interests come together to talk about the topic. In this case, the topic is braille codes and instruction. If your child participates, they will be joining 3 to 7 other students for approximately 1 hour. We will meet online using Zoom which is like Skype or Face Time. They will need to have an internet connection and microphone.

What is Project INSPIRE? 

Project INSPIRE is a 5 year training grant to support braille literacy for professionals and students to build their skills and knowledge in the braille codes for STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) courses. 

Who are the researchers? 

What is a focus group and how will the research be run? 

You are invited to participate in a research study at the University of South Carolina Upstate. A focus group is an opportunity for a group of people to come together and talk about a topic, in this case STEM braille materials. The focus group will be held online and last about 1 hour. There will be 4-8 people in the focus group. 

Who is eligible to participate in the focus groups?

When is the focus group? 

Tuesday, February 23 at 7:00 PM EST / 6:00 PM CST / 5:00 PM MST / 4:00 PM PST 

How can I learn more and sign up my child to participate in a focus group? 

Contact Dr. Tina Herzberg:

See attached Focus Group flier.

 

Visit: Project INSPIRE: Increasing the STEM Potential of Individuals who Read Braille

Use this form to be notified of future Project INSPIRE courses and other activities. 

 

Attached File(s)

https://www.perkins.org/sites/elearning.perkinsdev1.org/files/INSPIRE_Focus%20Group%20Advertisement_Secondary%20Students.pdf
By Diane Brauner

SHARE THIS ARTICLE
A close-up of a hand holding a mobile phone in a classroom
Activity

How I use my phone as assistive technology in class

Ways to Read Webpages without a Traditional Screen Reader
Activity

Ways to Read Webpages Without a Traditional Screen Reader

"Making Sense of Math with Audio Graphs" image of graph on an iPhone.
Tips & facts

Making Sense of Math with Audio Graphs