Loading Events
Graduate diplomas displayed on a table
June 23, 2023 | 10:00 AM

Class of 2023 graduation

Please congratulate the Perkins School for the Blind class of 2023 and join us here for the livestream on June 23—Save the date!

Livestream the graduation ceremony
Friday, June 23, 2023 at 10:00 a.m. EDT

Graduation exercises

Organ prelude

“Largamente (Pomp and Circumstance)”

by Sir Edward Elgar

Performed by Peter Krasinski


Osamh Alenezi

“The Star-Spangled Banner”

by Francis Scott Key

Performed by the Secondary School Chorus


Rabbi Michael Luckens, Rabbi Emeritus of Kerem Shalom of Concord


Dave Power, President and CEO

Steve Pelletier, Chair, Board of Trustees

Piano Solo

“Sonata in G major, op. 49, no. 2”

Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven

Performed by Matteo Faso


Ed Bosso, Superintendent and President of Educational Programs

Commencement Speaker

Kate Katulak-Higgins, Associate Director of University Disability Resources, Harvard University

Secondary Chorus

“Keep on the Sunny Side”

Lyrics by Ada Blenkhorn

Music by J. Howard Entwisle

Arranged by Arnie Harris

Annual awards

Patrick McCall, Assistant Superintendent

Jessica Brown, Education Director, Secondary School

Marguerite Tibaudo, Deafblind School

Piano Solo

“Hail To Thee, Our Alma Mater”

School Prize Song, 1966

Music by Anne Lifton Darch

Performed by Owen Sholes

Senior class speaker

Annika Ottaway-Velder

Presentation of diplomas and certificates

Organ postlude

Recipients of diplomas & certificates

Osamh Fawaz Alenezi

Cambridge, MA

John Joseph Bastian

Tewksbury, MA

Joseph Frederick Carlino

Brockton, MA

Timothy Liam Casey-Caplan

Westborough, MA

Carlos Juan Colon, III

Haverhill, MA

Matteo Contey Faso

Stow, MA

Alize Garcia

Lawrence, MA

Hennessy Garcia

Lawrence, MA

Jake Tyler Gershkowitz

Newton, MA

Cooper Michael Gilliam

Presque Isle, ME

Claire Pittawan Harrell

Billerica, MA

Hannah Margaret Harrington

Plymouth, MA

Rebecca Paige Henderson

Taunton, MA

Aidan Regan McNeely

Cambridge, MA

Annikamarie Ottaway-Velder

Brookline, MA

Sai Her Pitman

Marlborough, MA

Daniel Fitzgerald Scesny

Shrewsbury, MA

Owen Noaah Sholes

Mansfield, MA

Matthew John Sullivan

Duxbury, MA

Jason H. Tam

Braintree, MA

Jane J. Xayaveth

Franklin, MA

Annual awards

The Betty Gayzagian Award

Awarded to the student who has demonstrated good vocal skills, significant interest in singing and the desire to continue voice training.

Carl H. Waddell Memorial Prize for Girls’ Athletics

Awarded to the female student who has shown effort, improvement, achievement and enthusiasm in physical education.

The Gertrude Stenquist Sinclair Award

Awarded to the student from the Deafblind School who best exemplifies the core qualities of good citizenship such as being kind, helpful, productive, cooperative and honest.

Karen Ringvall Home Economics Award 

Awarded to the student who has shown persistent effort and continual growth in independent living skills.

The Marcy Scott Award for Mobility Skills 

Awarded to the student who has developed strong mobility skills to enhance independent travel in the community.

The Marcy Scott Award for Social Skills and Leadership

Awarded to the student who has demonstrated the characteristics of a good leader and growth in leadership skills.

The Michael T. Collins Award

Awarded to the student from the Deafblind School who has demonstrated extraordinary effort to achieve success throughout the year.

The Reginald Fitz Award

Awarded to the student with the highest grade point average.

The Samuel P. Hayes Memorial Prize for Music

Awarded to the student involved in activities contributing significantly to the Perkins musical program.

The Terri Werner Award

Given in memory of art teacher Terri Werner to a student who has been a creative, enthusiastic participant in art classes, theater or the Museum of Fine Arts program, as well as a caring, supportive friend who motivates others to achieve their goals.

Dr. Edward Waterhouse Award

Awarded to the student from the Deafblind School who has best exemplified the core qualities of good citizenship, such as being kind, helpful, productive, cooperative, and honest.

Shirley Drucker Award for Essay

Awarded to the student from the Secondary School who has produced the best essay.

The Rose Vivian Award

Awarded to the student from the Deafblind School who has best reflected Mrs. Vivian’s vision of communication as an integral life skill.

Robert Giggey Award for Reading

Awarded to the student from the Secondary School who has enjoyed reading and has demonstrated this by reading many books.

Erik Wiehenmayer Achievement Award

Awarded to the student from the Deafblind School who has achieved academic excellence.

Senior class advisors

Christine Boudreau

Andrea Covelli

Laura Dennison

Denise Fitzgerald

Jennifer Kronmiller

Kelsey Linsenbigler

Marion Myhre

Megan O’Connell-Copp

Kathleen Scannell

Jessica Theriault

Secondary School Chorus


Zoey Brashears

Madilyn Welch


Hugh Feeney

Doryan Lockett


Danzel Diaz

Cooper Gilliam

Special thanks

Wendy Buckley

Sign language interpreter

Kim Charlson and the BTBL team

Braille production

Rebecca Fater and the Marketing team

Arnie Harris

Secondary School Chorus Director

Peter Krasinski


Vera Dumova


Jennie O’Brien

Voice teacher

Marguerite Tibaudo and the Deafblind team

Jessica Brown and the Secondary team

Scott MacDowell

Event coordination

Matt Lupulio, Matt Leonard, and Matt Rutkowski

Sound and video production

Michael Brook