The Archives support the mission of Perkins and the Research Library by making the unique material in its collection available to the public, enhancing and expanding the information in the Research Library by preserving its historical foundation. It is used by many researchers interested in the origins of this field of education, the School, and the innovators who created and contributed to them.
Booking an Appointment
Appointments to view archival materials should be arranged by contacting the Research Librarian at 617-972-7250 or at Hayes.Library@Perkins.org. Please fill out a Research Application in advance.
Visit the Perkins Archives
The Perkins Archives are located in the Samuel P. Hayes Research Library at the Perkins School for the Blind at 175 North Beacon Street, Watertown, MA, 02472
The research library is located in the Howe Building, easily identified by the iconic bell tower. Visitors should use the main entrance to the Howe Building and ask for directions to the research library from the front desk personnel. A campus map is available here.
Policies and Forms
The Samuel P. Hayes Research Library
The Samuel P. Hayes Research Library, founded in 1880, is a resource for researchers, the Perkins community, professionals, parents and the public. The Library offers the largest and most comprehensive collection on the nonmedical aspects of blindness and deafblindness that is available to the public. Explore the library’s card catalog of more than 40,000 books, pamphlets, journal articles, newspaper clippings, dissertations, conference reports, multimedia materials, and websites.
The materials do not circulate, but visitors are welcome to conduct research at the library. Many documents are freely downloadable on the web, and you’ll find the internet address in the Full Record display in the online catalog.
Search the online Catalog